Skip to Content

Does Snapchat Notify When You Delete a Chat? (We Checked!)

The chat feature on Snapchat is a fun alternative to text messaging. As fun as it is, you may simply want to move on from a conversation and remove it. So, does Snapchat notify you when you delete a chat?

Snapchat does not notify users when you delete a chat. However, they can see that the messages you deleted the messages when they try to access them in chat. Saved messages will appear on the chat if you open another thread with the user, so make sure to remove them before you clear the conversation.

Luckily, Snapchat automatically deletes messages in chat after 24 hours unless you save them. Follow along as we explore everything you need to know about how Snapchat handles conversation deletion and notifications.

Can Someone See When You Delete a Chat on Snapchat?

The friend you chat with on Snapchat can see when you delete a message. A removed message will appear as “deleted” in the chat, but they won’t receive a notification. They can only see that the message was deleted if they go to the existing chat threat.

How to Delete a Snapchat Message Thread

There are two easy ways to delete message threads on Snapchat. For the first method, you must scroll through your list of ongoing chats on the app and select the one you want to delete. Tap and hold the chat you want to delete until a menu appears and select “settings”.

Three options will appear, and you must select “clear conversation” to delete the message thread. You will be able to keep the previously saved messages if you reopen another chat with that person. Make sure to remove saved messages before you delete the thread if you want them to disappear.

Block the user if you don’t want to communicate with them anymore after you delete the thread. For the second method, simply tap your profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen. Scroll down and select “clear conversations” under the “account actions” tab. Select the conversation that you want to delete, and the thread will be removed.  

When You Delete a Chat on Snapchat Does It Delete on Both Ends?

Messages disappear on both ends when you delete a chat on Snapchat. Saved messages will still appear unless you remove them before you delete the thread. However, saved, and temporary messages will be permanently deleted if you block the user.

According to Snapchat, the messages you delete may take a while to disappear from the chat. It is immediate in many cases, but delays can occur due to Wi-Fi problems and server errors on you or the recipient’s end.

Does Snapchat Notify When You Screenshot a Chat?

Snapchat notifies users when you screenshot a chat. This works the same way as when you screenshot a standard Snap. The notification should appear right away unless there is a problem with the server, connectivity, or cellular data.

Can Someone Tell You’re Typing on Snapchat?

A user can tell when you’re typing on Snapchat. If you have your notifications turned on, you will receive a notification that the user is typing on the chat thread. You can also tell that someone is typing if you have the chat opened. It will show the user’s name with text bubbles and say “typing”.

Can You Save a Chat on Snapchat?

You can save a message in chat on Snapchat if you tap it and select “save”. The other users in the chat won’t receive a notification, but the saved message will appear as saved. You can tell a message is saved because it appears highlighted and darkened.

Why Did My Snapchat Thread Disappear?

The messages on your Snapchat thread automatically disappear after 24 hours. You can avoid this if you save the messages, but the app is set up to automatically delete messages after a day. If the entire thread disappears, this may indicate that you were blocked by a user.

When blocked, your existing threads with the user won’t appear on your home page. You also won’t be able to send them messages or find them in your list of friends.

100 words. Messages disappear after a day unless saved. The entire chat will disappear if someone blocks you on Snapchat or if you block them.

Does Snapchat Notify When You Delete a Friend?

Snapchat doesn’t notify users when you delete them as a friend. However, they can still tell that you deleted them because you will appear on their “add” list instead of in their list of friends.  They can also tell that you deleted them if they can no longer view your stories.

So, Will Someone Get a Notification If I Delete a Chat on Snapchat?

Snapchat doesn’t send notifications when you delete a chat. The person you chatted with can still see that you deleted a message, however, and it will appear as removed. You can delete a message if you hold it and select “delete”, or you can delete a thread if you hold it and tap “clear conversation”.